We have a new Vicar of our village Parish Church, Revd Sam Denyer.  His institution into the post by Bishop Peter will be at St Cuthbert’s in Wells on Saturday May 6th.  His first service in the village will be at 11.00 am on May 14th. Everyone is welcome at the service at 11.00 or to join us at 12.30pm to meet Sam and the family, bring a picnic and a rug. 

denyer family.jpg 

Sam grew up in and around Bristol where his father was also a parish priest. He studied French at the University of London and then returned to Bristol to work in life assurance, where he met his wife, Paula. They have four children: Beatrice (13), Gabriel (12), Magnus (10) and Alfred (8).

 

After several years working for HSBC, he felt called to ordination and trained at Ripon College, Cuddesdon.   His ministry first took him to Lostwithiel, Cornwall, and then to Winnersh between Reading and Wokingham in the Diocese of Oxford.

 

Both Sam Paula are looking forward to returning to the West Country and being nearer to friends and family. They are also looking forward to exploring Somerset on foot and by bike, as they used to when previously living in Bristol and getting to know the people of Wells and Wookey Hole.

Comments   

0 #1 JJ Kane 2017-04-30 19:33
Welcome to Wookey Hole and Wells, May your new home bring you and yours harmony and peace always.
Yours sincerely
JJ Kane FRSA

You have no rights to post comments

What's On

Upcoming Events

Mon Jun 18 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Jun 19 @19:30
Scrabble Club
Wed Jun 20
Luncheon Club
Wed Jun 20 @19:30
Meet & Make Group
Sun Jun 24 @08:00
Communnion
Mon Jun 25 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Jun 26 @10:00
Sewing Day
Wed Jun 27 @19:00
Parish Council Meeting
Wed Jun 27 @19:30
Meet & Make Group
Sun Jul 01 @11:00
Communion
Thu Jul 12 @19:30
Cinema Club - The Shape of Water
Mon Aug 06 @13:30
Pilates